Taboo Topic

As I struggle with our infertility battle…I grow tired of the fact that it’s such a taboo topic.  See I’m a very open person, and I’m definitely open about our issues trying to conceive. But I’m starting to become closed off about it.

It’s funny because after a few months people have offered me LOTS of advice, anything from “Just Relax, it will happen”, to “Maybe it’s just not the right time.” or my personal favorite “You need to gain weight”. But it’s also funny the people in my life that really avoid talking about it…I had a friend wait until she was 7 months pregnant to share her news with me.  I mean, did she honestly think I wouldn’t be happy for her?

I wish sometimes people would just understand how hard this is for me and my husband.  And just offer me some comfort.  Originally my mother was someone who wasn’t very understanding of the situation.  That was until I shared with her this link.

It really puts it in plain English how difficult it is for us infertile people, and the decisions that we face. It also helps people who have never had to deal with infertility help us cope with what’s going on. I think it’s a great resource for both fertile and infertile folks.  Plus some people can be really insensitive.

Today is CD8. David’s been giving me injections every night since CD2. It’s not fun, and luckily my only side effects have been headaches. But each time I endure the injection I pray that it will all be worth it to hold our bundle of joy in 9 months.  It’s even more pressure for me, since I know that we will not continue our treatments when we return to the US until we find jobs. At which point, I’ll have to start all over with a new doctor and a new treatment regiment. Dragging out this process God-knows how long.

Dr. David administering my Gonal F injection...CD7

Dr. David administering my Gonal F injection…CD7

At this point I’m just trying to stay positive and surround myself with positive people.  And I find it quite funny that we won’t know if it’s been successful until the day we land in Miami.  Talk about a fresh start. Here’s to hoping!!

Leave a Reply

