First Post of 2014

I know, I’m a week late….but better late than never!

It’s been a whirlwind few days, and I’m just now getting caught up!

For New Years Eve, we celebrated with mom & dads 8 closest friends.  It was a wonderful evening full of yummy hors d’oeuvres and delightful wines! My favorite was for sure the Lynch Bages.photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4

Then we went on a quick trip to Tampa from Jan 2-4.  We went to look at homes for my parents.  First we stopped in Sarasota and peeped a gorgeous mini-mansion on the Gulf.  Unfortunately we immediately ruled it out because it was on a very busy street. That night we ate at Armani’s at the Grand Hayatt in Tampa. What a wonderful experience!  We had the best waiter, yummy wines and some amazing food!!  Would HIGHLY recommend this place for a romantic date night!photo 1 photo 2

David's Ossobuco & my veal milanese

David’s Ossobuco & my veal milanese

Like the pink hair??

Like the pink hair??

Best dessert I've ever had!! Chocolate molten cake with salted carmel sauce...YUMMMM

Best dessert I’ve ever had!! Chocolate molten cake with salted carmel sauce…YUMMMM

The next morning we woke up to look at the house in Tampa.  Now this is important because it might change the trajectory of my entire life moving forward.  Basically it’s a 30,000 sq. foot home, and if purchased the plan is for us ALL to live together.  That’s right: mom, dad, hubby, brother, me and the girlfriend to LIVE IN ONE SINGLE HOUSE!  Well technically 2 houses, since brother would live in the guest apartment over the garage. It was a lot to take in….not only the HUMUNGOUS house, but the decision to live together under one roof.  We took over 2 hours to walk through the space.  Asking questions, and mentally mapping out how we would lay out the rooms. Then we went to lunch and really got into the nitty-gritty. Going around the table to vote on who was “in”.  When it was all said and done, Mom & I voted we build the house in Islamorada….the boys wanted the Tampa house.

The potential Tampa compound

The potential Tampa compound

That night dad treated us to Berns Steak House.  Now if you’ve ever visited Tampa, I’m sure you’ve heard of this place it’s a highly regarded, establishment.  I may even go so far as saying it’s the best steak experience of my life (each and every time that I go….which has been twice so far).  We started with a yummy bottle of Bollinger champagne while we waited for our table.  Once we were taken to the table we ordered entrees of steak tartare and stone crab claws.  Each were amazing, and I must comment on the key lime mustard dipping sauce for the “stonies”….it was unreal and made me want to drink it!  For my main I ordered a filet with foie gras on top.  WOWOWOWOWOW!  For wine we enjoyed a delightful ’52 Margaux followed by a delightful Latour. What a dinner experience!! Not for the faint of heart, or light eater, or the person who wants to go to bed early.  This was a 3 hour, fill your belly, laugh, chat and enjoy every second kinda meal!!  I can’t wait to go back 😉

photo 1 photo 2

Filet with Foie Gras at Berns in Tampa

Filet with Foie Gras at Berns in Tampa

photo 4 photo 5

So now we move forward like nothing had happened, despite the fact that last week my life (our lives) could have changed significantly.

Yesterday we had family yoga, like we do every Monday. And now we’re back in Marathon working away.

Who knows what life changing decisions might come our way NEXT week…..maybe a job offer, or two?? Here’s to hoping for many opportunities and excitement for 2014!

Leave a Reply

