The Best Things About Being a Consultant / Unemployed

When the hubby and I decided to move back to the US from Monaco, we were pretty smart about budgeting for a few months without work. This takes the pressure off the job search and allows us to focus our efforts on building his company and doing some consulting. To be honest, it’s so nice to determine our own schedule and not work a 9-5 job.  Here are some of the joys of self-employment:

-Grocery shopping in the middle of the day

-Yoga classes / working out whenever I feel like it

Yoga time!

Yoga time!



-Staying at a friends for more than a weekend

-Staying with family for more than a weekend

-Going to the beach whenever the sun is shining!

Beach bum with my two beach pups

Beach bum with my two beach pups

-Taking the dogs for a walk after lunch (or whenever the heck I want to)

-Washing the car by hand whenever I feel like it

-Trying a new baking recipe whenever I want!

-Cooking for hubby breakfast, lunch & dinner!

-Sleeping in

-Having a glass of wine with lunch if I feel like it

Lunch al fresco with vino!

Lunch al fresco with vino!

-Being able to say “yes” to nearly anything and everything (work schedule is no longer a restraint)

-Having pink hair

That's right I'm 30 & have pink hair!

That’s right I’m 30 & have pink hair!

-Wearing PJs all day if I feel like it

I’m sure there are a million more…..but these are definitely some of my favorites!  What would you do if you could work from home & make your own schedule??

2 thoughts on “The Best Things About Being a Consultant / Unemployed

  1. Andrea Leber

    I do work from home which allows me to squeeze in my yoga routine before work. I’m always telling myself: You’d be sitting on the train now, commuting, so feel blessed you don’t – and get on the mat! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

